Harvest Day Part 2

Well, it took me a little bit longer to get back to this than I had expected.  Have I mentioned that I’m currently in two shows in addition to my day job and being the beekeeper of the family?

After pulling the honey supers off of the hive that we were harvesting from, Amy Beth and I went to West Seattle for a harvest party hosted by Krista Conner of Seattle Bee Works.  She has a 20 frame extractor, so the harvest went fast!  Here are some pictures:

Total harvest?  About 35 lbs, give or take.  So not as much as I was hoping for, but I feel very good about this first harvest.  Since one of the hives I harvested from swarmed right after our dud of a blackberry nectar flow, and the other was just a few weeks behind that one in development and missed what blackberry there was, I figure that I harvested from about the equivalent of one hive.  The honey is delicious, and we’re loving showing it off to friends and family.  I also started a small one gallon batch of mead with it while Amy Beth was away one weekend…can’t wait to see how that turns out!

Hope you enjoyed harvest day.  We’ll be posting some more cheesemaking pictures soon!

Leave a Reply

